2013 Induction Ceremony

View photos from the 2013 Induction Ceremony

Congratulations to the 2013 Inductees into the Barrie Sports Hall of Fame:

Nick Owen – Athlete/Builder
Doug Freer – Builder
John Madden – Athlete

Winners of the John Crawley Lifetime Achievement Award for 2013:

Winner of the Barrie Amateur Athlete of the Year, 2012

Kyle Graves – Rugby

Winner of the Barrie Coach/Official of the Year, 2012

Rob Roy – Multi Sports

The Jean McCann Unsung Hero Award 2012 winner: Sue & Gary Charters


The Barrie Sports Hall of Fame Society grew from small beginnings as a self-appointed “steering committee” in the summer of 1984. It has grown into a volunteer organization which helps to perpetuate the names and deeds not only of Barrie’s great athletes, but also of those selfless individuals who have worked to create an environment in which such athletes could and can excel.

BSHOF Charter Executives c. 1985

The diligent work of the steering committee culminated in the Society’s charter meeting on January 30, 1985 at which time the society’s constitution was adopted. The Barrie Sports Hall of Fame Society became an official entity.

The City of Barrie graciously consented to allow the Allandale Recreation Centre to become the home of the Barrie Sports Hall of Fame. It is here that portraits celebrating the great men and women from Barrie’s sporting history, both past and present, have been displayed for over twenty years.

The Society promotes recognition of and interest in the history of sports in Barrie. It has undertaken occasional research projects and displays dealing with local sports history. These displays are also featured from time to time at the Allandale Recreation Centre.

The Barrie Sports Hall of Fame is honoured to have been chosen custodian of the Greg Johnston/Shane Corson Trophy. This trophy, donated by a group of Barrie citizens, is presented each year to Barrie’s outstanding amateur athlete, based on criteria established by the society. The trophy is intended as a permanent form of recognition of the two fine hockey players for whom it is named. Greg and Shayne, drafted respectively by the Boston Bruins and Montreal Canadiens, were key figures on Canada’s 1985 World Junior Hockey champions.

Comments are closed.