Athlete of the Year

The Amateur Athlete of the Year is selected by a secret ballot of the Barrie Sports Hall of Fame Society’s Lifetime Voting Members. A list of qualified candidates are presented by the Selection Committee from nominations received from the public. Any Barrie athlete deemed to have attained an outstanding level of achievement in any field of sport during the previous year is eligible for the award subject to the following conditions: The athlete(s) must be considered a permanent resident of Barrie. The Athlete(s) may have performed outside of Barrie, as long as the athlete is still considered to be a Barrie resident by the Society. An athlete may also be considered if he/she competes for a Barrie team, Barrie School, Barrie Association or if it can be documented that he/she was viewed by the province or nation as being from Barrie, and thereby have conferred honor upon Barrie. To be considered for this award, an athlete must be an amateur. The qualifications for Athlete of the Year will allow for logical units of two or more to be recognized as a single unit where the actions of one are dependent on the other (i.e. a skating pair, rowing pair, tennis doubles). The recipient is presented the Greg Johnston/ Shayne Corson Trophy. A plate showing the athlete’s name, the participating sport and the year is added to the trophy. A Certificate of Recognition is also presented to the recipient as a memento from the Barrie Sports Hall of Fame Society.

Past Winners

1984 James Ans – Nordic skiing
1985 Rob RoyHockey
1986 Rob CrossanAlpine Skiing
1987 Ed DoerksenSwimming
1988 J. Terry MartinUltra Marathoner
1989 Jason IngSwimming
1990 Michelle MaizisMartial Arts
1990 Ian PavlikAlpine Skiing
1991 Jeffrey LangdonFigure Skating
1992 Jamie GallowayFootball
1993 Tanya RouseTrack & Field
1994 Jonathan ChenierTrack & Field
1995 Jenifer HandleyTrack & Field
1996 Steven KavanaghFigure Skating
1997 Laura CurrieFigure Skating
1998 Kelly FrenchTrack & Field
1999 Bryan TaylorBasketball / Rugby
2000 Jennifer RobinsonFigure Skating
2001 Amanda BrewerTrack & Field
2002 Jeff ButtleFigure Skating
2002 David ShulzeSwimming
2003 Laura MaludzinskiTrack & Cross Country Running
2004 Leslie HawkerFigure Skating
2005 Stephie SherlockGolf
2006 Amanda TrueloveTrack
2007 Erin TribeNordic Skiing
2008 Matt BeleskeyHockey
2009 Brandon MacDonaldLacrosse
2010 Alexandra Paul & Mitchell Islam Figure Skating
2011 Taylor ParisRugby
2012 Kyle GravesFootball
2013 Zach NastasiukHockey
2014 Taylor CartwrightWrestling
2015 Victoria PickettSoccer
2016 Jacob GravesHockey
2017 Ryan SpataroBaseball
2018 Jessica BrouilletteWrestling

Comments are closed.